Author Topic: Breaking the Stalemate; A Gaunts Ghosts fan-fic  (Read 750 times)

Description:

Offline darkshard

Breaking the Stalemate; A Gaunts Ghosts fan-fic
« on: April 08, 2015, 12:38:01 PM »
Author's note: Much as I love Gaunt's ghosts, the sad fact is that I am not very good at taking other people's characters and writing them. It just doesn't work for me. So allow me to present Breaking the Stalemate. Set in the warhammer 40k universe, during the Sabbat Worlds crusade. It does touch on characters from the Gaunt's ghosts universe, but only, breifly as I am much more comfortable creating and inserting my own characters, and building them into the world.

Prologue:

Oberon Class Battleship Shadow of Eire, in high orbit over Aexe Cardinal

Lord General Barthol Van Voytz closed his eyes and let out a long sigh.

“Have I disappointed the Warmaster, that I am replaced as commander in chief here?”

“No, Lord General. Far from it. Warmaster Macaroth is most impressed with your work on Aexe Cardinal, particularly with the fact that you have had to work with their… old fashioned command style.”

“But we have yet to even break the stalemate on this world and the Blood Pact are here in force.”

“Yes, that is true, however, it was under you that the Tanith First destroyed the super artillery of The Arch Enemy and discovered the presence of the Blood Pact. Your forces and advice have been instrumental in the continued holding of the line here.”

Across the room, sat in field dress uniform, Lord General Cormac Ȯ Turlach never broke eye contact as he spoke. He paused briefly, when Van Voytz did not reply he continued.

“The Warmaster acknowledges that given the situation he placed you in, there is very little else that you could have done. He believes your talents and intuition are best used elsewhere Lord General and as such he is giving you command elsewhere.”